Crushing on the OpenCraft Philosophy

Howdy - I randomly sent an awkward email the other day which Xavier thought would be cool to share with everyone. So I am:

Hi,

I’m sorry for the totally random and out of left-field weird fanboy email, but I really felt the need to send this. Please feel free to pass this on to your PR people (or the trash); I’m sure you’re both pretty busy.

My name’s Josh Berman, I’m originally from New York, and now live in Israel. Currently, I’m a software developer, but originally trained to be a Rabbi.

I’m someone who always strives for excellence, with various degrees of success, in every aspect of my life; my professional, my personal/familial, as well as communal and religious. Over the last 8 years since I joined the tech world, I’ve worked at 2 startups through various stages, in various tech-roles (intern, dev, team lead, pre-sales engineer, devops). I’ve always found, and been told, both as a manager and an employee, that excellence in one area requires untenable sacrifice in another.

Where I could, I’ve tried to push back on the concept, and have had some success, but a lot of failure.

I stumbled across your handbook today, and could not stop reading it. It reverberated strongly; and so eloquently expressed many principles I believe in. I hope it’s ok if the next time I’m in a managerial position and/or found my own company, I straight-up copy a lot of what you wrote.

It goes without saying that your core mission brings a huge amount of value to the world, and is incredible. But I also would like to say I’m inspired not just by what you do, but how you’re doing it.

Thanks for setting this example.

That’s it - creepy stalker-time over. :-)

Thanks for your time,

- Josh Berman

I meant every word of it - its really inspiring to see what you’ve built. You should all be proud.

15 Likes

@joshb Thank you for writing in. Seeing encouragement like this is always heartwarming. :slight_smile: