How to run openedx for development?

Hello Opencraft,

I am new to this OpenEdx stuff and figured I wanted to run OpenEdx to take a stab at issue wg-build-test-release/223 but I couldn’t run OpenEdx to modify the code.

I am aware about tutor and devstack, I tried both. devstack wouldn’t let me do make dev.clone (from this document) or make dev.provision (from this document).

For reference, I exported OPENEDX_RELEASE to olive.4 because olive.4 is the latest stable version.

Here are the errors I get from the commands:

# make dev.clone
The [ecommerce] repo is already checked out. Checking for updates.
Checking out branch open-release/olive.4
From https://github.com/openedx/ecommerce
 * tag                   open-release/olive.4 -> FETCH_HEAD
Already up to date.
Cloning into 'edx-e2e-tests'...
fatal: Remote branch open-release/olive.4 not found in upstream origin
make[1]: *** [Makefile:173: impl-dev.clone.ssh] Error 128
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/zest/setup/programs/devstack-container/devstack'
Would you like to assist devstack development by sending anonymous usage metrics to edX? Run `make metrics-opt-in` to learn more!
make: *** [Makefile:176: dev.clone.ssh] Error 2
# make dev.provision
+ docker-compose up -d lms
Pulling devpi (edxops/devpi:olive.4)...
ERROR: manifest for edxops/devpi:olive.4 not found: manifest unknown: manifest unknown
make[1]: *** [Makefile:220: impl-dev.provision] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/zest/setup/programs/devstack-container/devstack'
Would you like to assist devstack development by sending anonymous usage metrics to edX? Run `make metrics-opt-in` to learn more!
make: *** [Makefile:224: dev.provision] Error 2