[Recent grad] Open Source Contributions

Hi everyone, I’m a recent grad from the HackBright Software Engineering Fellowship and I’m really interested in applying to roles at OpenCraft, but I’m new to open source contributions. I had a great chat today with some of the OpenCraft folks at the HackBright career fair and was encouraged to make a post on this forum to get some tips and links on contributions that a recent grad like me could get started with. Thank you for your time and attention in advance, I’m looking forward to it!

8 Likes

Hi @lucianact, and welcome to the forum!

I’m glad to see you’re interested in contributing to open source - it’s arguably the most important thing we do, and correspondigly, the thing we most look for in candidates. It’s not all - because of the way the company is structured we also look for seniority - but we’ve made (successful!) exceptions in cases where there was a clear desire to work like we do, even if lacking experience.

Since you’re completely new to it, you should probably do a read of this opensource.com article. It’s a quick rundown of the advantages to you as a developer, without getting into the philosophy of it. (If you are interested in a bit of history, what gets me excited to this day is a 2001 documentary called “Revolution OS” - I hear you can find it on everybody’s favorite video site.)

On the How: while we don’t complete our community’s contribution course, you can get a taste of what the process is like by making an artificial contribution here. It doesn’t count as a real one, of course, as it sidesteps the meat of it - communicating well and handling a review - but it should give you a rough understanding of the mechanics.